Aiken Library

 Home > Library Locations > North Augusta Branch Library > Community Information

North Augusta Branch Library

Other Aiken County Libraries

Other ABBE Libraries

County of Aiken

The fourth largest county in the state in area, Aiken County has gently sloping farmland. Approximately 21% of the land is in farms and about 10% owned by the federal government. The largest incorporated towns in order of size are Aiken, North Augusta, New Ellenton, Jackson and Wagener.

Created March 10, 1871
Form of Government Council-County Administrator
Area 1,073 square miles (1996)
Population 142,552 (2000 est.)
Web Site
Of Interest


City of North Augusta

Did you know that the City of North Augusta was preceded by three other towns that were located in the general area of North Augusta? The best part of the past remains in North Augusta today, blended with a modern outlook to create a unique community that has pride in its commitment to be independent and self reliant with a deep sense of togetherness and achievement. [Excerpts from "Community History " on the North Augusta website]


Incorporated 1906
Form of Government Mayor-Council
Area 19.5 square miles
Population 17,574
Web Site
Of Interest


ABBE Regional Library System 314 Chesterfield Street SW Aiken, SC 29801 (803)-642-7575
Copyright © 2006 ABBE Regional Library System/ All rights reserved.