Academic Search Premier*
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,000 journals, including full text for nearly 3.900 peer-reviewed titles.


Advance Directive Forms
The South Carolina Bar offers a series of educational brochures and forms on a variety of topics.


Affordable Care Act
Official consumer site for the Health Insurance Marketplace.


African-American History*
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture


Aiken Bella Magazine
Publication ceased in 2021. Back issues still available.


Aiken County Building Codes
Find out about building codes and permits for Aiken County.


Aiken County Emergency Operation Plan
The Aiken County Emergency Operations Plan (EOP) is developed for use by Aiken County Government Officials to ensure mitigation and preparedness, appropriate response, and timely recovery from hazards that may affect Aiken County.


Aiken Standard



Aiken Standard – NewsBank
Search full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and more from current and archived issues of the Aiken Standard. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device


Aiken Standard Newspaper Archive



Alt HealthWatch*
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.


America’s News – NewsBank
Explore and stay informed on local and national topics, people, and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources spanning the U.S. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.


American Women’s History: A Research Guide
This site has been recognized by the ABC-CLIO Online History Award (2009) and the ACRL WSS Significant Achievement Award (2009); it is maintained by Ken Middleton (ken.middleton@mtsu.edu), Digital Initiatives Librarian at Middle Tennessee State University's Walker Library.


Ancestry.com Library Edition
The Friends of the Aiken County Public Library are providing access to Ancestry Library Edition at the Aiken County Public Library. Ancestry Library Edition, the largest online family history resource available, provides unprecedented access to family history via documents that record the lineage of individuals from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Europe, Australia, and more. Answers await all users—professional or hobbyist, expert or novice, genealogist or historian—from more than 20 billion available records. User-friendly search tools and comprehensive indexing make it easy to start discovering personal histories. **Access this resources by using a library computer inside the Aiken County Public Library or via your device while connected to the ABBEnet Wi-Fi.**


Applied Science & Technology Full Text*
Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties--acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.


Augusta Chronicle
Newspaper for Augusta, Ga.


Background Notes
This State Department database provides basic information including people, history, government, political conditions, economy, foreign relations, travel, and more.


Ben's Guide to the United States Government for Kids
Teaches kids from kindergarten through 12th grade about the Federal Government.


Bloom’s Literature*
Comprehensive source for literary research on writers and their works throughout history and the world.


Britannica Academic*
An accurate, current, and comprehensive resource for college-level learners, researchers, and faculty.


Britannica Escolar Secundaria*
Enciclopedia Britannica de lengua Española / Britannica’s middle school Spanish language encyclopedia


Britannica Fundamentals*
An innovative early learning product for students in grade levels kindergarten through second grade.


Britannica Library Reference Center*
For high school students though adults


Britannica Moderna*
A Spanish language encyclopedia for high school, college and beyond. Descubra los artículos enciclopédicos, los recursos multimedia y otros materiales de consulta para su investigación. Para la escuela secundaria, la universidad y más allá.


Britannica School*
Access to encyclopedia and related content on three levels: elementary, middle and high school, as well as teacher resources


Britannica’s Escolar Primaria*
Enciclopedia Britannica de lengua elemental Española / Britannica’s elementary Spanish language encyclopedia


Britannica's Animal Kingdom*
Videos and other learning materials allow elementary school kids can to explore animal habitats and groups.


Bureau of Economic Analysis
Agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce that provides information about the U.S. economy and its competitive position such as the GDP and economic accounts data.


Business Source Premier*
Business research database covering marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, banking, finance, and economics.


Career One Stop
Database that provides educators with example lessons, activities, projects, resources, references, and tools that will supplement and enrich their curriculum. Maintained by San Diego State University/ Pacific Bell Fellows.


Census Data
Search, browse, and retrieve census data from a variety of sources, including the Census, the American Community Survey, and geography & maps. Includes information formerly found in American FactFinder.


Chilton Library*
Search the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. Also provides The Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) Test Prep quizzes.


CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.


Common Reads
Promotes literacy, creates community, and encourages reflection for children, young adults, adults, and first year college students.


Computer History Museum
Learn about the people and stories of computing.


Computer Source*
Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology.


Constitution of the United States: Analysis & Interpretation
Complete text annotated with Supreme Court decisions and interpretation and analysis.


Consumer Health Complete*
Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is EBSCO's interface designed for the everyday consumer of health care information.


CREDO Reference*
Full text of more than 600 subject-specific encyclopedias, biographies, chronologies, and dictionaries, all from well-respected publishers


Culturegrams*
Concise cultural and statistical snapshots of every country recognized by the United Nations.


Day by Day SC Family Literacy Calendar
The site features songs, videos, activities, and web links for caregivers and kids. It also provides access to Tumble Books, which has interactive storybooks.


DEW (SC Department of Employment and Workforce)
Information about unemployment benefits, job opportunities, and workforce services. Trends, statistics, and other information important to employers and job seekers.


Digital Learn
Provides brief tutorials on basic computer and internet use and being safe online.


DuoLingo
More than 20 languages to learn. Fun and FREE.


EBSCOhost Research Databases*
A platform that allows the user to search multiple EBSCO databases at once and retrieve a single set of results


Edgefield Advertiser – NewsBank
Search full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and more from current and archived issues of the Edgefield Advertiser. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.


Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)*
Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, and much more.


Edward S. Curtis' North American Indian
Library of Congress presents the digital collection of photographer Edward S. Curtis's American Indian images published from 1907 to 1930, courtesy of the Northwestern University Library in Evanston, IL.


ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center*
Contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.


European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750*
This new bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas written in Europe before 1750.


Explora for Elementary Schools*
Ensure student and educator success


Explora for High Schools*
Ensure student and educator success


Explora for Middle Schools*
Ensure student and educator success


Explora for Public Libraries*
Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction


Eyewitness to History
Your ringside seat to history - from the Ancient World to the present. History through the eyes of those who lived it.


FAFSA
The first step in the process of applying online for financial aid at the Department of Education.


Family Search
Contains over 35 million pedigrees and family group records; more than 300 million birth, christening and marriage records; the Family History Library Catalog of the collection located in Salt Lake City, Utah; and the Family History SourceGuide.


Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center*
Assess your career goals and interests, plan your education, learn workplace skills, find apprenticeships and internships, conduct a job search, and more.


Finaid
The most comprehensive annotated collection of information about student financial aid on the web.


Flood Mitigation Program
The SC Department of Natural Resources administers the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) and works with South Carolina citizens and communities to minimize losses due to flood conditions.


Foreign Governments and Country Information
State Department database that provides basic country information including people, history, government, political conditions, economy, foreign relations, travel, and more.


Fuente Academica*
Fuente Academica offers more than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain.


Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia*
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.


Gale eBooks*
Novels, Poetry and short stories for students


Gale In Context: Biography*
Discover the world's most influential people by searching narrative biographies, news, magazine, and multimedia content.


Gale In Context: Elementary*
Introduce elementary students to database searching with resources featuring age-appropriate, curriculum-related content.


Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints*
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.


Gale Power Search*
Gale PowerSearch is a search platform unlike any other, providing libraries with a sophisticated yet simple solution for managing a wealth of periodical, reference, multimedia and primary source information.


Georgia Department of Revenue
State income tax publications, forms and instructions.


GoodReads
Book clubs, book trivia and quotes, and tools for tracking books you and your friends are reading.


Hands on Health
This site helps people find health services in SC, including support groups.


Health Finder
Find out how your family may be able to get free services to help you stay healthy


HeritageHub
Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for in-depth genealogical research from 1704 – today. Heritage Hub helps you easily identify relatives, uncover new information and potentially unknown family members. Includes deep coverage from all 50 states, hard-to-find content from the mid 1900’s, and original obituary images. Access is available 24/7.


History Reference Center*
History Reference Center provides full text reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, history periodicals, historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps, and hours of historical video.


Homeland Security
The Department of Homeland Security provides the coordinated, comprehensive federal response in the event of a terrorist attack, natural disaster or other large-scale emergency.


Internal Revenue Service
Federal income tax forms, instructions, and online filing.


Khan Academy
With a library of over 2,700 videos covering everything from arithmetic to physics, finance, and history and 276 practice exercises, we're on a mission to help you learn what you want, when you want, at your own pace.


LearningExpress Library*
Includes practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and information needed to achieve the results you want at school, at work, or in life. Prepare for the ACT, SAT, AP, and graduate school exams. Includes GED and occupational certification exam prep, eBooks, videos, and Spanish-language content for the US Citizenship test.


MarketLine Company Profiles Authority*
MarketLine is a business information company covering the automotive, consumer, energy, financial services, healthcare and technology sectors.


Martindale-Hubbell Lawyer Locator
Designed for individuals and small businesses, this online directory of lawyers and law firms around the world allows for searching by name, geographic location and area of practice. Accurate and reliable profiles of 440,000 attorneys and firms worldwide.


MasterFILE Premier*
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals.


MEDLINE*
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences created by the National Library of Medicine.


Middle Search Plus*
Provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines, including an assigned reading level indicator (Lexiles).


Military & Government Collection*
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.


Mortage Loan Calculator
Over 100 calculators for consumers, professionals and researchers.


Municode
Find the Code of Ordinances for various counties, including Aiken.


National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
The Federal Government’s lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.


National Center for Education Statistics
The primary federal agency responsible for collecting and analyzing educational data for the United States and other nations.


NetSmartz Kids
Interactive, educational safety resource from the National Center for Missing & Exploited Children. Uses age-appropriate activities to teach Internet safety concepts.


NetSmartz Resources for Parents, Educators and Communities
NetSmartz is NCMEC's online safety education program. It provides age-appropriate videos and activities to help teach children be safer online with the goal of helping children to become more aware of potential online risks and empowering them to help prevent victimization by making safer choices on- and offline.


Newspaper Source Plus*
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers in addition to featuring more than 857,000 television and radio transcripts.


Newswires*
EBSCO's AP News provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press on a continuous basis.


NoveList K-8 Plus*
A comprehensive reading resource for fiction and nonfiction.Its fun and intuitive interface, and extensive proprietary content helps integrate reading across the curriculum and supports young readers.


NoveList Plus*
NoveList Plus is a comprehensive readers' advisory resource for fiction and nonfiction. With its intuitive interface and extensive proprietary content, NoveList Plus will help you to answer the question of what to read next.


NSTeens
Interactive, educational safety resource from the National Center for Missing & Exploited Children. Uses age-appropriate activities to teach Internet safety concepts.


PebbleGo Animals/Animales , PebbleGo Science and PebbleGo Social Studies*
Informational articles, ready-made activities and more for K-3 students


PebbleGo Next Biographies*
Biographies for grades 3-5


Points of View Reference Center*
An interface intended for public, academic, and high school libraries. Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects.


Primary Search*
Provides full text for more than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research.


Professional Development Collection*
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals and features educational reports.


Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.


Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection*
Covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.


Ready.gov
Prepare, plan, stay informed. What to do in all types of weather and emergencies.


Recreation.gov
Search recreational opportunities across several different agencies, including the Corps of Engineers, Bureau of Land Management, and others, as well as the National Park Service.


Red Cross
Red Cross coverage of domestic and international disaster relief.


Regional Business News*
Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.


Savings Bond Calculator
Compute the redemption values for your savings bonds at this site sponsored by the Federal Reserve Bank of New York.


SC Business One Stop
South Carolina Business One Stop (SCBOS) is a free, government-provided online source for existing and emerging businesses. The website provides a bridge between businesses and South Carolina State Agencies.


SC Counties Disaster Recovery Resources
The South Carolina Association of Counties has compiled a list of state and federal disaster recovery resources following floods that devastated parts of the state..


SC Department of Archives and History
The mission of the Department of Archives and History is to preserve and promote the documentary and cultural heritage of the state through archival care and preservation, records management, public access, historic preservation, and education.


SC Department of Education
The South Carolina Department of Education website provides the latest information on all aspects of education and schools in South Carolina.


SC Department of Health and Environmental Control
With a focus of promoting the health of the public and the environment, this site provides news, reports, statistics, information on permits and regulations and other online services and tools.


SC Judicial Department
Offers many SC legal forms for downloading and printing.


SC Works Online
SC Works Online Services links all of South Carolina's state and local workforce services and resources.


SC.gov
Portal to South Carolina State Government Agencies that provides links to South Carolina state and local government, the State employee phone directory, and information about news, education, business, health, public safety, etc. within South Carolina.


Science Reference Center*
Comprehensive full-text database covering the major scientific fields of study


Small Business Reference Center*
Up-to-date information on topics related to small businesses and entrepreneurs


SMART 911
Free service that gives 9-1-1 the tools to keep you and your family safe. It is 100% private, secure and used by 9-1-1 centers across the country.


Social Security Express
The official Social Security website


South Carolina Bar Public Services
The South Carolina Bar is committed to serving and educating the public through a series of programs and initiatives designed to create an atmosphere of communication and trust.


South Carolina Business One Stop
State government website that is the official SC business web portal. A vital resource for anyone wanting to operate a business in South Carolina.


South Carolina Department of Revenue
State income tax forms and instructions.


South Carolina Legal Services
Find publications on legal issues as well as a list of local organizations that can help with non-legal needs.


South Carolina Legislature
Find the South Carolina Code of Laws, Code of Regulation as well as other publications.


South Carolina State Documents Depository
Provides access to publications produced by state agencies and state-supported academic institutions.


State Department Travel Warnings
Includes information sheets on each country with basic tips for traveling and living abroad, announcements, required immunizations, drug penalties, and health or safety concerns.


StatsAmerica
A portal to U.S. information, including data sets from dozens of federal and state sources, along with some commercial or private source data.


StudySC*
Links to quality online content for South Carolina-related topics, including subjects in the South Carolina curriculum standards


Teacher Reference Center*
Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.


TeenBookCloud*
An online collection of ebooks, enhanced novels, graphic novels, videos and audio books, which offers students and adults of all reading levels access to an amazing range of content.


The State
Newspaper for Columbia, SC


The State Collection (NewsBank) – 1987 to Current
Explore Columbia history through local news, events and people with The State Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.


The World Almanac for Kids Elementary*
Engaging, fun entries and exclusive, age-appropriate content. Includes teacher resources.


The World Almanac for Kids*
Engaging, fun entries on age-appropriate topics, plus special daily features


THOMAS: Legislative Information on the Internet
Provides access to summaries, status, and text of Congressional bills; major legislation; roll call votes; Congressional Record (text and index); and committee reports.


TumbleBooks*
Children's eBooks for grades K-6, including animated picture books and read-along chapter books


TumbleMath*
TumbleMath is the most comprehensive collection of math picture books you will find anywhere, all in the amazing TumbleBook format complete with animation and narration.


Tutor.com*
Real-Time Tutoring: 24 hours a day, seven days a week for English and Spanish speakers. Connect with a tutor on a variety of subjects, test prep assistance, or parent coaching.


U.S. Department of Education
Financial aid information from the US Department of Education.


U.S. Geological Survey
USGS is science organization that focuses on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information, and water.


U.S. Small Business Administration
Information on starting, financing, expanding a business. Online business courses and business counseling.


U.S. Tax Court
A Federal court of record established by Congress to provide a judicial forum in which affected persons could dispute tax deficiencies determined by the Commissioner of Internal Revenue prior to payment of the disputed amounts.


UsGenWeb
U.S. genealogy access organized by county and state.


Vocational and Career Collection*
Designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public.


WorkSC
SC State Library site for job news, calendar of events, links to featured job-related resources, information on creating free email accounts, job training tutorials, links to South Carolina and national job listing sites and many other tools.


Writer’s Reference Center*
A convenient one-stop location for all of the tools necessary to write and research effectively


Yearbook of American & Canadian Churches
A detailed catalog of religious houses of worship and organizations

TOP